--- title: "Set up server-side synchronization" slug: "set-up-server-side-synchronization" updated: 2025-01-10T23:44:34Z published: 2025-01-10T23:44:34Z canonical: "docs.zilliant.com/set-up-server-side-synchronization" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.zilliant.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Set up server-side synchronization Use the procedures in this topic to: - Set up user access to the CRM and Outlook - Administer users in the CRM - Synchronize contacts, emails, meetings, and tasks - Decommission users ## Set up user access to the CRM and Outlook To set up the user's email inbox: 1. In the CRM, select **Activities** > **My Sync Settings**. 2. Sign in on the login screen. After successful authentication, the CPQ connection status should appear in green. To connect to the user's email account: 1. Select the gear icon in **MAIL SERVER CONNECTION STATUS**. 2. Select Office 365. 3. Sign in using your email credentials. Steps are shown in the following image: ![](https://cdn.document360.io/24f960e8-3c1c-4c18-a2c6-83b6ae4aab84/Images/Documentation/MS%20Server%20Side%20Sync%201.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T12%3A35%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T13%3A35%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=nHSkq0mLF92xBETVsctBKXTxm009JLhOsNgdOll5fy0%3D) When the user successfully signs in to the CRM and their email inbox, the integration performs the following steps: - Installs the add-in - Prepares the email inbox for synchronization - Enables synchronization ## Administer users in the CRM Administrative users can perform multiple actions on users, as shown in the following table. | Action | Meaning | | --- | --- | | Delete | Attempts to delete the user. If pre-existing conditions prevent deletion, the system returns an error. | | Force Delete | “Hard” delete of the user. Use this action only when directed by Zilliant Support. | | Force Synchronization | Synchronizes immediately (does not wait for the next scheduled sync cycle). | | Enable / Disable Synchronization | Suspends the synchronization job. | | Reset Mailbox | Removes all changes made to the user’s inbox, such as creation of folders, categories, and synchronized contacts. | | Initialize or Re-initialize Mailbox | Sets the inbox to the initial state required for synchronization. | | Check Settings | Performs a generic check on connectivity or add-in status. | | Check CRM Connectivity | Checks the CRM connection. | | Check Mailbox Connectivity | Checks the inbox connection. | | Install Revenue Grid | Allows the admin to install the Add-In at the user’s inbox. | | Remove Add-In | Removes the Add-In from the user’s inbox. | Users may also manually perform the steps listed in the following table. | Action | Steps to Perform | | --- | --- | | Enable End User Sync | - Initialize mailbox - Enable synchronization | | Disable End User Sync | - Disable synchronization | | Remove End User Functionality | - Disable synchronization - Remove Add-In - Reset mailbox - Delete / force delete | > [!WARNING] > Note > > Similar options are available for mass user maintenance. The following image shows the different options for administering users. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/24f960e8-3c1c-4c18-a2c6-83b6ae4aab84/Images/Documentation/MS%20Server%20Side%20Sync%202.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T12%3A35%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T13%3A35%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=nHSkq0mLF92xBETVsctBKXTxm009JLhOsNgdOll5fy0%3D) --- ## Synchronize contacts, emails, meetings, and tasks After setting up server-side integration and initializing the user’s inbox, the integration engine will create the following inside the respective groupware system: - Folders under **Contacts**, **Emails**, **Meeting**, and **Task** - Categories for flagging emails, meetings, and tasks ### Synchronize contacts All CRM contacts are synced to the user’s address book inside the respective folder under **Contacts**. Changes are replicated bi-directionally. This means that if a contact is changed in the local address book, changes are replicated in the CRM; if changed in the CRM, changes are replicated in the local address book. ### Synchronize emails Use one of the following options to sync emails: - Flag the email by using the CRM category. Select **Tags** > **Categorize** > **CRM** as shown in the following image: ![](https://cdn.document360.io/24f960e8-3c1c-4c18-a2c6-83b6ae4aab84/Images/Documentation/MS%20Server%20Side%20Sync%204(2).png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T12%3A35%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T13%3A35%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=nHSkq0mLF92xBETVsctBKXTxm009JLhOsNgdOll5fy0%3D) - Drag and drop emails into the **In Mind Cloud Emails** folder as shown in the following image: ![](https://cdn.document360.io/24f960e8-3c1c-4c18-a2c6-83b6ae4aab84/Images/Documentation/MS%20Server%20Side%20Sync%205(1).png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T12%3A35%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T13%3A35%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=nHSkq0mLF92xBETVsctBKXTxm009JLhOsNgdOll5fy0%3D) - Manually, by using the Outlook add-in. > [!NOTE] > If auto-track emails is on, then all emails are synced to Outlook if they have a matching contact email as a sender or recipient. #### Enable email cropping Users can save entire email threads or keep only desired content from emails in Outlook on the CPQ platform. 1. In CPQ, go to **Activities** > **Groupware Administration** > **Global Settings** > **Settings**. 2. Search for “crop” as shown in the following image: ![](https://cdn.document360.io/24f960e8-3c1c-4c18-a2c6-83b6ae4aab84/Images/Documentation/MS%20Server%20Side%20Sync%207.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-11T12%3A35%3A01Z&se=2026-11-11T13%3A35%3A01Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=nHSkq0mLF92xBETVsctBKXTxm009JLhOsNgdOll5fy0%3D) 1. Use the information in the following table to set cropping preferences. | Cropping default value | Cropping enabled | Description | | --- | --- | --- | | 1 | 1 | Option to crop threaded emails is automatically enabled and can be disabled. | | 1 | 0 | Option to crop threaded emails is automatically enabled and cannot be disabled. | | 0 | 1 | Option to crop threaded emails is automatically disabled and can be enabled. | | 0 | 0 | Option to crop threaded emails is automatically disabled and cannot be enabled. | To view saved emails on the CPQ platform, go to **Activities** > **All Emails**, then select the latest saved email and select the icon at the top right of the page to expand the view. ### Synchronize meetings To synchronize a meeting, use one of the following options: - Flag the meeting by using the CRM category. Select **Tags** > **Categorize** > **CRM**. - Drag and drop the meeting into the **In Mind Cloud Events** folder. ### Synchronize tasks Sync tasks by creating or updating tasks in the **In Mind Cloud Task** folder. The sync cycle occurs every 30 minutes. ## Decommission users To completely remove end-users and revoke functionality, follow the steps outlined in the table: | Action | Impact | | --- | --- | | Disable Synchronization | Suspends server-side synchronization features for the selected user | | Remove Add-In | Removes the Outlook add-in from the user's Inbox. Users can do this manually. | | Reset Mailbox | Removes any integration-related categories created in the user's Inbox. | | Delete/Force Delete | Removes the user from the group of provisioned users. | | Manual Step: Delete all folders in the user’s Inbox. | If desired, the folders created for emails, contacts and tasks in the user’s Inbox will need be manually removed. | To view the saved email: 1. Go to **Activities > All Emails.** 2. Click the latest saved email. 3. Click the **Expand** icon to expand the view.